Electoral College Officially Votes Donald J. Trump President

electoral college, trumpIt's official. The Electoral College has voted Donald J. Trump as the nation’s 45th president.

Despite opposition and protests, the vote pushed Trump beyond the 270 vote requirement for the election.

For those who may not know, the Electoral College was established by the founding fathers in the Constitution as a compromise between election of the President by a vote in Congress and election of the President by a popular vote of qualified citizens.

According to reports, four of the electors in Washington state who were set to vote for Hillary Clinton went rogue, voting for other candidates. Three of the electors voted for former Secretary of State Colin Powell and the fourth voted for Native American tribal leader Faith Spotted Eagle, according to the Washington secretary of state.

Trump won states worth 306 electoral votes to 232 from states won by Hillary Clinton.

More From LATF USA

Scroll to Top