SXSW Film Lineup Announced

The South By Southwest (SXSW) festival has recently released its film lineup for its annual entertainment carnival that brings industry leaders and newcomers from film, music, and interactive gaming to the forefront every year in Austin, Texas. Held from March 8th to March 17th, the SXSW festival will feature films from Joss Whedon (The Avengers), John Sayles (Lone Star), and Nick Cassavetes (Face/Off). 109 features will be released, 69 of which will be world premieres, and 14 being North American premieres. Several anticipated spring releases such as the remake of “Evil Dead” and Harmony Korine’s “Spring Breakers” will debut during the festival. Newcomer Eric Heisserer’s horror feature “Hours”, starring Paul Walker, is one of the many new voices finally getting an international showcase to show of their work. 

Here’s the linup:

“Awful Nice”: Director/Screenwriter: Todd Sklar, Screenwriter: Alex Rennie
“Burma”: Director/Screenwriter: Carlos Puga
“Improvement Club”: Director/Screenwriter: Dayna Hanson
“LICKS”: Director/Screenwriter: Jonathan Singer-Vine, Screenwriter: Justin “Hongry” Robinson
“The Retrieval”: Director/Screenwriter: Chris Eska
“Short Term 12″: Director/Screenwriter: Destin Daniel Cretton
“Swim Little Fish Swim” (USA, France): Director/Screenwriter: Ruben Amar, Lola Bessis
“This Is Where We Live”: Directors: Josh Barrett, Marc Menchaca, Screenwriter: Marc Menchaca

“12 O’Clock Boys”: Director: Lotfy Nathan
“Big Joy: The Adventures of James Broughton”: Directors: Stephen Silha, Eric Slade
“Hey Bartender”: Director: Douglas Tirola
“Los Wild Ones”: Director: Elise Salomon
“The Short Game”: Director: Josh Greenbaum
“Touba”: Director: Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi
“We Always Lie To Strangers”: Directors: AJ Schnack, David Wilson
“William and the Windmill”: Director: Ben Nabors

“Evil Dead”: Director/Screenwriter: Fede Alvarez, Screenwriter: Rodo Sayagues
“Hawking (UK)”: Director: Stephen Finnigan
“The Incredible Burt Wonderstone” Director: Don Scardino, Story by Chad Kultgen & Tyler Mitchell and Jonathan Goldstein & John Francis Daley. Screenplay by Jonathan Goldstein & John Francis Daley
“Spring Breakers”: Director/Screenwriter: Harmony Korine
“When Angels Sing”: Director: Tim Mccanlies, Screenwriter: Lou Berney

“The Bounceback”: Director: Bryan Poyser, Screenwriters: David Degrow Shotwell, Steven Walters, Bryan Poyser
“Coldwater”: Director/Screenwriter: Vincent Grashaw, Screenwriter: Mark Penney
“Drinking Buddies”: Director/Screenwriter: Joe Swanberg
“Go For Sisters”: Director/Screenwriter: John Sayles
“Good Night”: Director/Screenwriter: Sean H. A. Gallagher
“Grow Up, Tony Phillips”: Director/Screenwriter: Emily Hagins
“Gus”: Director/Screenwriter: Jessie McCormack
“Holy Ghost People”: Director: Mitchell Altieri, Screenwriters: Kevin Artigue & Joe Egender, Mitchell Altieri & Phil Flores
“Hours”: Director/Screenwriter: Eric Heisserer
“I Give It A Year (UK)”: Director/Screenwriter: Dan Mazer
“Kilimanjaro”: Director/Screenwriter: Walter Strafford
“Loves Her Gun”: Director/Screenwriter: Geoff Marslett, Screenwriter: Lauren Modery
“Milo”: Director/Screenwriter: Jacob Vaughan, Screenwriter: Benjamin Hayes
“Much Ado About Nothing”: Director: Joss Whedon
“Reality Show”: Director/Screenwriter: Adam Rifkin
“Scenic Route”: Directors: Kevin Goetz, Michael Goetz, Screenwriter: Kyle Killen
“Some Girl(s)”: Director: Daisy Von Scherler Mayer, Screenwriter: Neil LaBute
“Zero Charisma”: Directors: Katie Graham, Andrew Matthews, Screenwriter: Andrew Matthews

DOCUMENTARY SPOTLIGHT“An Unreal Dream: The Michael Morton Story”: Director: Al Reinert
“Before You Know It”: Director: PJ Raval
“Continental” (USA, Canada): Director: Malcolm Ingram
“Downloaded”: Director: Alex Winter
“Getting Back to Abnormal”: Director: Louis Alvarez, Andrew Kolker, Peter Odabashian, Paul Stekler
“Good Ol’ Freda”: Director: Ryan White
“I Am Divine”: Director: Jeffrey Schwarz
“Medora”: Directors: Andrew Cohn, Davy Rothbart
“MILIUS”: Directors: Zak Knutson, Joey Figueroa
“Mr. Angel”: Director: Dan Hunt
“The Network” (Australia, UK): Director: Eva Orner
“The Other Shore”: Director: Timothy Wheeler
“Rewind This!”: Director: Josh Johnson
“Spark: A Burning Man Story”: Directors: Steve Brown, Jessie Deeter
“TINY: A Story About Living Small”: Directors: Christopher Smith, Merete Mueller
“Unhung Hero” (Germany): Director: Brian Spitz
“We Cause Scenes”: Director: Matt Adams

“ELENA” (Brazil): Director: Petra Costa
“euphonia”: Director/Screenwriter: Danny Madden
“Everyone’s Going to Die” (UK): Director/Screenwriter: Jones
“Fuck for Forest” (Poland): Director: Michał Marczak, Screenwriter: Michał Marczak, Łukasz Grudziński
“Harry Dean Stanton: Partly Fiction” (Switzerland): Director: Sophie Huber
“Kelly + Victor” (UK): Director/Screenwriter: Kieran Evans, Screenwriter: Adapted For Screen By Niall Griffiths
“Lunarcy!” (Canada): Director: Simon Ennis
“Maidentrip”: Director: Jillian Schlesinger
“Maladies”: Director/Screenwriter: Carter
“Our Nixon”: Director: Penny Lane
“Sake-Bomb” (USA, Japan): Director: Junya Sakino, Screenwriter: Jeff Mizushima
“Snap”: Directors: Youssef Delara, Victor Teran, Screenwriter: Victor Teran
“These Birds Walk”: Directors: Omar Mullick, Bassam Tariq
“The Wait”: Director/Screenwriter: M. Blash
“White Reindeer”: Director/Screenwriter: Zach Clark
“Yellow”: Director/Screenwriter: Nick Cassavetes, Screenwriter: Heather Wahlquist

“All the Labor”: Director: Doug Hawes-Davis
“Artifact”: Director: Bartholomew Cubbins (Jared Leto)
“A Band Called Death”: Directors: Mark Christopher Covino, Jeff Howlett
“Born in Chicago”: Director: John Anderson
“Broadway Idiot”: Director: Doug Hamilton
“Brothers Hypnotic”: Director: Reuben Atlas
“¡Cuatro!”: Director: Tim Wheeler
“Finding the Funk”: Director/Screenwriter: Nelson George, left
“Good Vibrations” (UK, Ireland): Directors: Lisa Barros D’sa, Glenn Leyburn, Screenwriters: Colin Carberry, Glenn Patterson
“The Punk Singer”: Director: Sini Anderson
“Reincarnated”: Director: Andy Capper
“Twenty Feet from Stardom”: Director: Morgan Neville

“And Who Taught You To Drive?” (Germany): Director: Andrea Thiele
“Diario a Tres Voces / Three Voices” (Mexico): Director: Otilia Portillo Padua
“Dog Flesh / Carne de Perro” (Chile): Director/Screenwriter: Fernando Guzzoni
“The Fifth Season” (Belgium, Netherlands, France): Directors/Screenwriters: Peter Brosens & Jessica Woodworth
“Museum Hours” (Austria, USA): Director/Screenwriter: Jem Cohen
“The Punk Syndrome” (Finland): Directors: Jukka Kärkkäinen, J-P Passi
“Sofia’s Last Ambulance” (Bulgaria): Director: Ilian Metev
“Zayiat” (Turkey): Director/Screenwriter: Halil Deniz Tortum, Screenwriter: Steeve Roso

“The Act of Killing” (Denmark): Director: Joshua Oppenheimer
“A Teacher”: Director/Screenwriter: Hannah Fidell
“Before Midnight”: Director/Screenwriter: Richard Linklater, Screenwriters: Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke
“Computer Chess”: Director/Screenwriter: Andrew Bujalski
“Don Jon’s Addiction”: Director/Screenwriter: Joseph Gordon-Levitt
“First Cousin Once Removed”: Director: Alan Berliner “Imagine” (Poland, Portugal, France): Director/Screenwriter: Andrzej Jakimowski
“Mud”: Director/Screenwriter: Jeff Nichols
“Pit Stop”: Director/Screenwriter: Yen Tan, Screenwriter: David Lowery
“Prince Avalanche”: Director/Screenwriter: David Gordon Green
“Upstream Color”: Director/Screenwriter: Shane Carruth

SPECIAL EVENTS: (Live Soundtracks, cult re-issues and much more)
“Bates Motel: Story to Screen with Carlton Cuse”
“Burning Love”: Director: Ken Marino, Screenwriter: Erica Oyama
“No More Road Trips?”: Director: Rick Prelinger
“Sound City”: Director: Dave Grohl
“This Ain’t No Mouse Music!”: Directors: Chris Simon, Maureen Gosling
“TPB AFK: The Pirate Bay Away From Keyboard” (Sweden, Denmark, Norway): Director: Simon Klose

For more information about the festival, including ticket options and a full lineup head to:

By: David Morris

More From LATF USA

Scroll to Top