‘Game of Thrones’ Season 8 Soundtrack Is Here

game of thrones, season 8 soundtrack

WaterTower Music has released Game of Thrones (Music from the HBO Series) Season 8 – the soundtrack from the final season of the award-winning HBO series.

The album features music by Emmy® Award-winning and Grammy® Award-nominated composer Ramin Djawadi (Westworld, Iron Man, Jack Ryan, Pacific Rim), and is available for sale digitally and for streaming today, with a Double CD scheduled for release scheduled for July 19 and a vinyl release later this year.

Among the album's 32 tracks, fans will find Djawadi's 9-minute opus "The Night King", as well as an instrumental version of the emotional ballad "Jenny of Oldstones". "The Night King" theme debuted during a pivotal moment in the epic battle episode "The Long Night". 

"The Night King" went viral immediately after premiering on the show and dominated a top two spot on Billboard's Top TV Songs chart for the month of April 2019with 2.2 million streams. Within days, "The Night King" reached the top 4 most downloaded songs on iTunes and the top 18 most watched videos on YouTube and dropped the jaws of audiences and critics alike. Nerdist described the song as "a series highlight…Djawadi's finest on the show", while Indiewire proclaimed that Djawadi "really outdid himself here with the soaring, searching score that gave the episode its own unique flavor while also selling its most emotional beats."

The album also features a new arrangement of "The Rains of Castamere" from Ramin and Serj Tankian. Tankian, best known as the lead vocalist of System of a Down, is an accomplished poet, songwriter, visual artist, activist, and composer. In 2017, Serj did a guest appearance at the Game of Thrones Live Concert Experience performing this arrangement. 

"The music for season eight concludes the story arc of Game of Thrones," explained Djawadi. "Though it's tough to say goodbye to the series, I hope this soundtrack transports the listener back to the world of Westeros.  It's been such an honor to be a part of this incredible show for the past eight years."

The Game of Thrones (Music from the HBO Series) Season 8 soundtrack has been released in time for the conclusion of the 8th and final season of Game of Thrones and is now available for digital purchase and streaming. The track listing is as follows:

1. Main Title

17. Outside the Gates
2. The Rains of Castamere
    performed by Ramin Djawadi &
    Serj Tankian
18. The Bells
3. Arrival at Winterfell 19. The Last War
4. Flight of Dragons 20. Into the Fire
5. Heir to the Throne 21. For Cersei
6. Jenny of Oldstones 22. Believe
7. A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms 23. Stay a Thousand Years
8. The Battle of Winterfell 24. Nothing Else Matters
9. The Dead are Already Here 25. Master of War
10. Battle for the Skies 26. Be with Me
11. The Long Night Pt. 1 27. The Iron Throne
12. The Long Night Pt. 2 28. Break the Wheel
13. The Night King 29. You Have a Choice
14. Dead Before the Dawn 30. The White Book
15. Not Today 31. The Last of the Starks
16. Farewell 32. A Song of Ice and Fire

Additionally, the Game of Thrones Live Concert Experience returns this fall for a 20-city amphitheater tour, bringing the music of Game of Thrones composer Ramin Djawadi (who will conducting and performing at select shows) to stunning new life at outdoor theatres across North America. As we say goodbye to one of the biggest shows and scores in television history, fans can relive the greatest musical pieces and footage from all eight seasons in an immersive outdoor concert experience. For a full list of tour dates and tickets please visit HERE

More From LATF USA

Scroll to Top