14th HollyShorts Winners: ‘Must Kill Karl,’ ‘Little Italy, LA’ & More

hollyshorts winners 2018

The 14th edition of the Oscar Qualifying HollyShorts Film Festival came to a close last night at the Harmony Gold Theater in Hollywood with a standing room-only Awards Ceremony hosted by Gabrielle Loren. Best Short Film top Award Presented by Buffalo 8 went to Skin Directed by Guy Nattiv. The film received a tremendous amount of attention during it’s premiere at the festival held at the TCL Chinese Theater earlier in the week.  Grand Jury Prize went to Souls of Totality Directed by Richard Raymond. Best Director went to Randall Christopher for The Driver Is Red. Best Short Shot on Film Presented by KODAK went to Trapeze USA by Mark Anthony Green. The Panavision Future Filmmaker Award went to Daniel Drummond for A Foreman. The HollyShorts 2018 Screenplay Competition Winner Presented by Seattle Film Summit went to Best Seller by Nora Kirkpatrick.
The 15th Anniversary of HollyShorts will take place on August 8-17, 2019 at the TCL Chinese 6 Theaters. The festival begins taking early bird submissions for next year’s festival on September 23, 2018.

And the winners are: 

Best Web Series
Little Italy, LA
Adriano Valentini

Best Action
Jonas Riemer
Best Animation
The Driver Is Red
Randall Christopher
Best Cinematographer
The Other End Of The Earth
Aaron Grasso
Best Comedy
Must Kill Karl
Joe Kicak
Best Coming Of Age
Bernard Kordieh
Best Diversity
Aina Dumlao, Bru Muller
Best Documentary
Hula Girl
Amy Hill, Chris Riess
Best Drama
Phone Duty
Lenar Kamalov
Best Editing
The Sermon
Paco Sweetman
Best Female Director
Magic '85
Annika Kurnick
Best Horror
Bite Size Horror
Andrew Laurich, Anthony Melton, Ben Franklin, Chris Leone, Jack Bishop, Jerome Sable, John Ross, Justin Nijm, Michael Thelin, Rob Savage, Toby Meakins
Best International
Alvaro Gago Diaz
Pop Rox
Nate Trinrud
Best Music Video
Thor Brenne
Best Narrative
A Drowning Man
Mahdi Fleifel
Best Period Piece
Lawrence Le Lam
Best Produced
Deer Boy
Paweł Kosuń, Agnieszka Janowska
Best Romance
Fill Your Heart With French Fries
Tamar Glezerman
Best Sci-Fi
Eric McEver

Best Screenplay
1. Best Seller – Nora Kirkpatrick
2. Melville – Jeremy Storey
3. Conviction – Nino Mancuso

Best Student
Ewen Wright
Best Thriller
Alberto Corredor
Best TV
Jeremiah Kipp
Best VFX
UI Soon We Will All Be One
Johannes Mücke, Patrick Sturm

Best VR
A Yosemite Welcome…
Kevin Pontuti
Honorable Mention
Magic Alps
Andrea Brusa, Marco Scotu
Kodak Honorable Mention
Always Remember Me
Nell Teare

Best Panavision Future Filmmaker Award
A Foreman
Daniel Drummond
Best Director
The Driver Is Red
Randall Christopher
Best Grand Jury
Souls Of Totality
Richard Raymond
Best Short Film Prize
Guy Nattiv

More From LATF USA

Scroll to Top