Cannes Spotlight: Winners Of 2016 Cinéfondation Prizes Announced

Cannes Cinefondation winnersMore Cannes Film Fest buzz:

Cinéfondation and Short Films Jury headed by Naomi Kawase and including Marie-Josée Croze, Jean-Marie Larrieu, Radu Muntean and Santiago Loza, have awarded the 2016 Cinéfondation Prizes during a ceremony held in the Buñuel Theatre, followed by the screening of the winning films.

The Cinéfondation Selection consisted of 18 student films, chosen out of 2 350 entries coming from 548 film schools around the world.

First Prize

ANNA directed by Or Sinai

The Sam Spiegel Film & TV School, Israel

Second Prize

IN THE HILLS directed by Hamid Ahmadi

The London Film School, United Kingdom

Joint Third Prize

A NYALINTÁS NESZE directed by Nadja Andrasev Moholy-Nagy

University of Art and Design, Hungary

Joint Third Prize

LA CULPA, PROBABLEMENTE directed by Michael Labarca

Universidad de Los Andes, Venezuela

The Festival de Cannes allocates a €15,000 grant for the First Prize, €11,250 for the Second and €7,500 for the Third.

The winner of the First Prize is also guaranteed the presentation of their first feature film at the Festival de Cannes.The Cinéfondation will grant the three winners prizes of an equal value – €15,000 for the First, €11,250 for the Second and €7,500 for the Third – provided that a feature film project is presented within two years of the film award.

More From LATF USA

Scroll to Top