“Gravity” & 12 Years A Slave” Win Big At Screenwriters Choice Awards

GravityScreenwriters Choice Awards was held January 7, 2014, at the Paramount Theatre at Paramount Pictures Studio. Also honored at the ceremony were Hall of Fame honoree writer/director/producer Nancy Meyers (Something’s Gotta Give, The Parent Trap), and the winners of the Final Draft Big Break Contest (see separate release).

And the winners are…


Best Original Screenplay:
Gravity — Alfonso Cuarón & Jonás Cuarón (winner)
Blue Jasmine – Woody Allen
Her – Spike Jonze
Inside Llewyn Davis – Joel Coen & Ethan Coen
Nebraska – Bob Nelson

Best Adapted Screenplay:
12 Years a Slave — John Ridley (winner)
Before Midnight – Richard Linklater & Julie Delpy & Ethan Hawke (Kim Krizan (characters))
Captain Phillips – Billy Ray (based on the book A Captain’s Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALS,and Dangerous Days at Sea by Richard Phillips & Stephan Talty)

Philomena – Steve Coogan, Jeff Pope (based on the book The Lost Child of Philomena Lee by Martin Sixsmith)
The Wolf of Wall Street – Terence Winter (based on the book The Wolf of Wall Street by Jordan Belfort)

Best Television Comedy:
Modern Family — Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd (series creators) (winner)
Arrested Development – Mitchell Hurwitz (series creator)
Girls – Lena Dunham (series creator)
Parks and Recreation – Greg Daniels, Michael Schur (series creators)
Veep – Armando Iannucci (series creator)

Best Television Drama:
Breaking Bad — Vince Gilligan (series creator) (winner)
Downton Abbey – Julian Fellowes (series creator)
Game of Thrones – David Benioff, D.B. Weiss (series creators)
House of Cards – Beau Willimon (series creator)
Mad Men – Matthew Weiner (series creator)
This year’s awards show was hosted by writer/director comedian Jay Chandrasekhar.

More From LATF USA

Scroll to Top