The Killers Release Direct Hits & 2 New Songs

The Killers

Ten years ago today, on September 16th, 2003, four young men from Las Vegas left America for the first time to play their first ever London show, appearing fourth on the bill at Camden’s Dublin Castle. It was the first time they had played a gig outside of North America. Fast forward to 2013, that band – The Killers – has gone on to sell over 20 million albums worldwide, headlined festivals across the globe, performed at The White House, and picked up myriad awards. Each of The Killers’ four studio albums has yielded some of the most amazing songs of the last decade, and, this summer, amidst various festival headlining shows all over the world, they reached a summit very few artists have ever managed:  headlining Wembley Stadium to an ecstatic capacity crowd of 70,000. These shows – from their masterful showing headlining this year’s Lollapalooza to their crowning achievement commanding the stage at Wembley – reaffirmed what millions everywhere already know:  The Killers have released some of the finest, most memorable, most loved songs of the last ten years, and they’re still going strong.
In celebration of their first decade together, The Killers will release Direct Hits on November 11th, 2013 on Island Records.  A collection of singles from their four albums, plus two brand new songs, the album begins with the band’s breakthrough hit – and first song they wrote together – “Mr Brightside.” It follows the group from debut album Hot Fuss and its further singles, “Somebody Told Me,” “Smile Like You Mean It,” and “All These Things That I’ve Done,” through Sam’s Town’s “When You Were Young,” “Read My Mind,” and “For Reasons Unknown,” via Day & Age’s singles, including massive 2008 hit, “Human,” and last year’s stunning Battle Born album singles, kicking off with “Runaways.”  A brace of brand new songs completes the set:  “Shot At The Night” was recorded with M83’s Anthony Gonzales, and will be released as a single TOMORROW, September 17th via iTunes. The video for the song was directed by Robert Schober and was shot entirely in Las Vegas.  “Just Another Girl,” meanwhile, was produced by long time Killers collaborator Stuart Price, who produced 2008’s Day & Age.
The Killers have also prepared a special Fan Deluxe Edition that will contain the Deluxe CD, a documentary DVD of The Killers career, as well as 5 10- inch vinyl records comprising all songs on Direct Hits.
The deluxe edition of Direct Hits will additionally feature the original demo of “Mr Brightside” and a new remix of “When You Were Young” by Calvin Harris, as well as Battle Born’s “Be Still.”  Full tracklisting is as follows:
1.   Mr Brightside
2.   Somebody Told Me
3.   Smile Like You Mean It
4.   All These Things That I’ve Done
5.    When You Were Young
6.   Read My Mind
7.   For Reasons Unknown
8.   Human
9.    Spaceman
10.   A Dustland Fairytale
11.   Runaways
12.   Miss Atomic Bomb
13.   The Way It Was
14.   Shot At The Night
15.    Just Another Girl
Deluxe Version Also Includes…
16.   Mr. Brightside (Original Demo)
17.     When You Were Young (Calvin Harris Remix)
18.    Be Still

**Plus a never-before-seen Killers Documentary DVD**

More From LATF USA

Scroll to Top