Ben Folds Five Releases First New Album in Over a Decade


Fans had to wait 13 long years, but the mid-1990’s pop band, Ben Folds Five, is finally releasing “The Sound Of The Life Of The Mind” through ImaVeePee Records/Sony Music Entertainment. This is the trio’s first album of new music since “The Unauthorized Biography of Reinhold Messner,” which they put out over a decade ago. Following the group’s disbandment, lead singer and front man, Ben Folds embarked on several solo projects such as “Way to Normal,” and his collaborative effort with author Nick Hornby, “Lonely Avenue.” However, the old sparks of creativity were rekindled in 2011, when Ben Folds decided to reassemble the band consisting of bassist Robert Sledge, and drummer Darren Jessee

Hopefully this new album, due out September 18th, will be a revival of the unique indie pop magic that allowed Ben Folds Five to attract such a loyal fan base in the 1990’s. If the music video for their single “Do It Anyway,” replete with Fraggles from Fraggle Rock, is any indication, the new tracks are sure to be just as a quirky and odd as the tunes that made BFF famous.

By: D.D.

More From LATF USA

Scroll to Top