NFL Unveils Walter Payton Man of the Year Nominees

The NFL announced today the 32 nominees for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award presented by Nationwide. The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award presented by Nationwide is the league’s most prestigious honor and acknowledges NFL players who excel on the field and demonstrate a passion for creating a lasting positive impact beyond the game.

“The Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year award is the league’s most prestigious honor given annually to the player who best represents the greatness and compassion of Walter Payton on and off the field,” said NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell. “These 32 outstanding men are making a valuable difference in their communities every day and we are proud to celebrate their special gifts and humanitarianism.”

All 32 nominees will receive recognition for their achievements during the week leading up to Super Bowl LVIII in Las Vegas. The winner of the 2023 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award will be announced during NFL Honors, a primetime awards special to air nationally on CBS on Thursday, Feb. 8.

Each nominee supports a range of initiatives off the field that are important to them and their communities, including empowering youth to lead healthy lifestyles, supporting veterans and bringing awareness to other causes close to their hearts. Each nominee will receive up to $55,000 and the award winner will receive a $250,000 donation to the charity of his choice. All donations are made possible by the NFL Foundation and Nationwide.

Below is a list of this year’s nominees:

Arizona Cardinals Jonathan Ledbetter
Atlanta Falcons Bradley Pinion
Baltimore Ravens Roquan Smith
Buffalo Bills Dion Dawkins
Carolina Panthers Bradley Bozeman
Chicago Bears Justin Jones
Cincinnati Bengals Ted Karras
Cleveland Browns Anthony Walker Jr.
Dallas Cowboys DeMarcus Lawrence
Denver Broncos Garett Bolles
Detroit Lions Frank Ragnow
Green Bay Packers De’Vondre Campbell
Houston Texans Jon Weeks
Indianapolis Colts Zaire Franklin
Jacksonville Jaguars Dawuane Smoot
Kansas City Chiefs Patrick Mahomes II
Las Vegas Raiders Maxx Crosby
Los Angeles Chargers Derwin James Jr.
Los Angeles Rams Cooper Kupp
Miami Dolphins Alec Ingold
Minnesota Vikings Harrison Phillips
New England Patriots Jonathan Jones
New Orleans Saints Tyrann Mathieu
New York Giants Saquon Barkley
New York Jets Solomon Thomas
Philadelphia Eagles Lane Johnson
Pittsburgh Steelers Cameron Heyward
San Francisco 49ers Arik Armstead
Seattle Seahawks Bobby Wagner
Tampa Bay Buccaneers Antoine Winfield Jr.
Tennessee Titans Jeffery Simmons
Washington Commanders Terry McLaurin

This year fans are once again encouraged to participate in Nationwide’s annual Charity Challenge, a social media and online contest that allows fans to show support for their favorite Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year nominee. Fans can vote on X (formerly Twitter) by posting #WPMOYChallenge along with the last name/X handle of their chosen nominee or by voting directly on In cases where multiple nominees share the same last name (i.e. Justin Jones and Jonathan Jones), all valid votes on X must include the #WPMOYChallenge hashtag and the nominee’s X handle or full name.  ​

The nominee who receives the most collective hashtag mentions and votes will win an additional $35,000 donation from Nationwide to the charity of their choice, with the runner-up receiving $10,000 and the third-place winner receiving $5,000. Charity Challenge voting takes place from Dec. 5 to Jan. 8.

More From LATF USA

Scroll to Top