A Triumphant Boston Marathon Sees 36,000+ Runners

Boston Marathon 2014Photo Courtesy of AP

The nation watched as over 36,000 runners took on the Boston Marathon over one year since the tragic marathon bombings. The race is run on a point-to-point course through eight cities and towns, and the 26.2-mile course has remained essentially unchanged over the years. American Meb Keflezighi won the Boston Marathon men’s title with a running time of 2:08.36. 

The 39 year-old runner was cheered on by massive crowds. He’s the first American man to win in Boston since Greg A. Meyer in 2:09:00 in 1983, four years before Keflezighi immigrated to the U.S. The 2004 Olympic silver medalist was born in Eritrea and lives in Mammoth Lakes, Calif. His last major marathon victory was the Olympic trials marathon in 2012. He won New York in 2009.

Kenya’s Rita Jeptoo, 33 won for the women’s division which made this her second consecutive victory. Her time was 2:18:57.

The Boston Marathon is run each year on the third Monday of April – Patriots’ Day in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Watch the race live at

More From LATF USA

Scroll to Top