Cannes Appoints Actress Mélanie Thierry As Camera d’or President

French actress Mélanie Thierry will be the President of the 2021 Camera d'or that will award a first feature film selected at the Festival de Cannes.

The Camera d'or, created in 1978, is awarded to the best first feature presented at the Official Selection, la Semaine de la Critique or the Quinzaine des Réalisateurs. Aiming to support young creatives, this award acts as a career booster for filmakers, granting them a spotlight and a door to an international exposure. In the past, it was given to Jim Jarmusch, Mira Nair, Jaco Van Dormael, Naomi Kawase, Bahman Ghobadi, Steve McQueen. In 2016, Houda Benyamina won it for Divines, in 2017, Léonor Serraille for Jeune femme, in 2018 Lukas Dhont for Girl and in 2019, César Diaz for Nuestras Madres. The Camera d'or 2021 is to be awarded by the President of the Jury during the award ceremony on Saturday, July 17th.

List of the 31 films competing for the Camera d'or

Official Selection

C.B. Yi – Moneyboys
Gessica Généus – Freda
Valdimar Jóhannsson – Lamb
Yohan Manca – Mes frères et moi (La Traviata, my Brothers and I)
Teodora Ana Mihai – La Civil
Na Jiazuo – Gaey Wa'r (Streetwise)
Laura Wandel – Un monde (Playground)
Noémie Merlant – Mi iubita mon amour
Maxime Roy – Les Héroïques (The Heroics)
Wen Shipei – Are You Lonesome Tonight?

Semaine de la Critique

Khadar Ayderus Ahmed – The Gravedigger's Wife
Omar El Zohairy – Feathers
Elie Grappe – Olga
Julie Lecoustre & Emmanuel Marre – Rien à foutre
Simón Mesa Soto – Amparo
Clara Roquet – Libertad
Laura Samani – Piccolo Corpo
Constance Meyer – Robuste 
Charline Bourgeois-Tacquet – Les Amours d'Anaïs
Sandrine Kiberlain – Une jeune fille qui va bien 
Vincent Le Port – Bruno Reidal 

Quinzaine des Réalisateurs

Antoneta Alamat Kusijanović – Murina
Nathalie Álvares Mesen – Clara Sola
Luàna Bajrami – Luaneshat e Kodrës (The Hill Where Lionesses Roar)
Vincent Cardona – Les Magnétiques (Magnetic Beats)
Ely Dagher – The Sea Ahead
Payal Kapadia – A Night of Knowing Nothing
Panah Panahi – Jadde Khaki (Hit the Road)
Yassine Qnia – De bas étage (A Brighter Tomorrow)
Alessio Rigo de Righi & Matteo Zoppis – Re Granchio (The Legend of King Crab)
Saul Williams & Anisia Uzeyman – Neptune Frost

More From LATF USA

Scroll to Top