5 Seconds Of Summer Premiere New Song “Wildflower”

Today, 5 Seconds of Summer (5SOS) share a dynamic new song called, "Wildflower." Produced by Oscar Gorres (MARINA, Troye Sivan), "Wildflower is the latest offering from 5SOS's new album, "CALM," due out Friday via Interscope Records. Listen HERE.

Co-written with Rami Yacoub (Nicki Minaj, Ariana Grande) and Geoff Warburton (Shawn Mendes, Quinn XCII), “Wildflower” is an ’80s-pop-inspired but undeniably forward-thinking track, its energy propelled by 5SOS’s massive harmonies and powerful rhythms. In a particularly brilliant move, “Wildflower” finds 5SOS deliberately omitting certain words from the chorus lyrics, amping up the song’s potent but euphoric mood of romantic tension.

“We wanted to make the chorus kind of a choose-your-own-adventure, where some words are left out and then accentuated by these big stabs of synth,” explains bassist Calum Hood. “It lets everyone come up with their own interpretation, and fill in whatever they think those missing lyrics might be.”  

5SOS’s fourth studio album and first full-length for Interscope, C A L M is available for pre-order from all digital retailers HERE. Those who pre-order the album will instantly receive “Wildflower” along with the previously released singles “Easier,” “Teeth,” “No Shame,” and “Old Me.” Check out the teaser trailer for C A L M HERE, and see below for the complete tracklist.

As they gear up for the album’s release, 5SOS have partnered with Calm (a leading global health and wellness brand) to share four individual remixes of tracks off the forthcoming album. Starting tomorrow, those four remixes will be available on the Calm app (the #1 app for sleep, meditation and relaxation). Each remix was thoughtfully crafted by a different member of the band along with remixer/producer Matt Pauling, who also produced two songs on the album (Red Desert and Lonely Heart). “Easier” comes from guitarist Michael Clifford, “Old Me” from bassist Calum Hood, “Red Desert” from drummer Ashton Irwin, and “Best Years” from vocalist/guitarist Luke Hemmings. Launching exclusively on the Calm app, these remixes are the latest in a series of special releases from artists like Nick Murphy, Sam Smith, Sabrina Carpenter, and more.

Tracklist for C A L M by 5SOS

1. Red Desert
2. No Shame
3. Old Me
4. Easier
5. Teeth
6. Wildflower
7. Best Years
8. Not In The Same Way
9. Lover Of Mine
10. Thin White Lies
11. Lonely Heart
12. High 

About 5SOS:
The only band (not vocal group) in chart history to see its first three studio albums enter the Billboard 200 at No. 1, 5SOS have sold more than 9.6 million equivalent album units and sold over two million concert tickets worldwide, with cumulative streams of their songs now surpassing seven billion. In addition, they’ve earned a number of prestigious accolades over the years, including an American Music Award, a People’s Choice Award, two iHeartRadio Music Awards, eight MTV European Music Awards, five ARIA Awards, two APRA, and two MTV Video Music Awards.  


5 Seconds of Summer “Wildflower”
Apple Music:
YouTube Music:

More From LATF USA

Scroll to Top