March Madness College Basketball Returns To CBS Sports

CBS Sports returns to the court for the 2019-2020 college basketball season, featuring more than 275 games across broadcast and cable. The schedule showcases key rivalry games, top conferences, 12 combined automatic bids to the men’s and women’s NCAA Tournaments and the nation’s most recognizable and successful programs.

cbs sports, march madness schedule 2020

CBS enters its 39th consecutive season broadcasting college basketball starting on Saturday, Dec. 14 with a cross-conference clash between Oregon and Michigan (12:00 PM, ET). For the sixth consecutive year, CBS will broadcast the “CBS Sports Classic,” with this year’s matchups featuring UCLA vs. North Carolina (3:00 PM, ET) and Ohio State vs. Kentucky (5:15 PM, ET) on Saturday, Dec. 21 in Las Vegas, Nev. The following week, Kentucky will host Louisville in one of college basketball’s biggest rivalries on Saturday, Dec. 28 (3:45 PM, ET).  

The schedule also features key conference matchups, including:

  • Michigan at Michigan State (Sunday, Jan. 5), Baylor at Kansas (Saturday, Jan. 11), Oregon at Washington (Saturday, Jan. 18), Villanova at Providence (Saturday, Jan. 25), Georgetown at St. John’s (Sunday, Feb. 2), Maryland at Ohio State (Sunday, Feb. 23), Kansas at Kansas State (Saturday, Feb. 29), Auburn at Kentucky (Saturday, Feb. 29), Kentucky at Florida (Saturday, March 7), Memphis at Houston (Sunday, March 8), Ohio State at Michigan State (Sunday, March 8).

Once again, CBS serves as the home for college basketball action as the calendar turns to March, with four automatic bids awarded to the Men’s NCAA Tournament. The action starts with the Mountain West Conference Championship – airing one week earlier this season on Saturday, March 7 – and continues with the Missouri Valley Championship on Sunday, March 8, the Big 10 Conference Semifinals on Saturday, March 14 and both the Atlantic 10 Conference Championship and Big 10 Conference Championship on Sunday, March 15.

CBS also broadcasts the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championship for the 39th consecutive year, including a partnership since 2011 with Turner Sports to provide exclusive live coverage of every game in its entirety across CBS, TBS, TNT and truTV.


CBS Sports Network’s schedule showcases more games than ever before. The opening weekend features the sixth annual “Veterans Classic at the U.S. Naval Academy” with Auburn – a Final Four team last season – taking on Davidson (6:00 PM, ET) and ECU vs. Navy (8:30 PM, ET) on Friday, Nov. 8. The network has added the West Coast Conference as a conference partner this season, with two games featuring perennial power Gonzaga. Once again, the Network also will televise three men’s conference championship games and five women’s conference championship games.                                                                                                          

Featuring top conference and non-conference games, CBS Sports Network will televise action from conferences including the American Athletic Conference, Athletic Coast Conference, Atlantic 10, Big 12, Big East, Big Ten, Colonial Athletic Association, Conference USA, Missouri Valley, Mid-American, Mountain West, NEC, Pac-12, Patriot League, SEC, Southland and West Coast Conference.

Below are additional highlights for the CBS Sports Network schedule. 

  • Key Conference and Non-Conference Matchups, including:
    • Boston College at USF (Sunday, Nov. 10), Miami vs. UCF (Tuesday, Nov. 12), Missouri at Xavier (Tuesday, Nov. 12), Oklahoma State at Charleston (Wednesday, Nov. 13), USC at Nevada (Saturday, Nov. 16), Arizona State at San Francisco (Tuesday, Dec. 3), Colorado at Colorado St (Friday, Dec. 13), UConn at Cincinnati (Wednesday, Jan. 1), Butler at Villanova (Monday, Jan. 21), UNLV at Nevada (Wednesday, Jan. 22), Richmond at VCU (Tuesday, Jan. 28), Butler at Georgetown (Tuesday, Jan. 28), Gonzaga at Santa Clara (Thursday, Jan. 30), Akron at Kent State (Friday, Jan. 31), Utah State at San Diego State (Saturday, Feb. 1), Louisiana Tech at Western Kentucky (Thursday, Feb. 6), Xavier at Butler (Wednesday, Feb. 12), Navy at Army (Saturday, Feb. 22), Memphis at SMU (Tuesday, Feb. 25), Bradley at Illinois State (Wednesday, Feb. 26), Delaware at Charleston (Thursday, Feb. 27), Dayton at Rhode Island (Wednesday, March 4), Houston at UConn (Thursday, March 5).
    • In addition, CBS Sports Network will make 12 wild-card game selections from Conference USA, Mid-American, Missouri Valley, NEC and Patriot League.


  • Automatic Bids to the Men’s NCAA Tournament, including:
    • The Colonial Athletic Association Championship (Tuesday, March 10), Patriot League Championship (Wednesday, March 11) and Conference USA Championship (Saturday, March 14) where three teams will punch their ticket to the Tournament.


  • Multiple Holiday Hoops Tournaments and Showcases with Key Non-Conference Matchups, including:
    • The Jamaica Classic (LSU vs. Utah State – Friday, Nov. 22), Cancun Challenge (Northern Iowa vs. West Virginia – Tuesday, Nov. 26, Wichita State vs. South Carolina – Tuesday, Nov. 26), Emerald Coast Classic (VCU vs. Purdue – Friday, Nov. 29, Florida State vs. Tennessee – Friday, Nov. 29), Basketball Hall of Fame Showcase (Loyola (CHI) vs. Vanderbilt – Wednesday, Dec. 18) and Chicago Legends (Colorado vs. Dayton – Saturday, Dec. 21).


  • 29 Total Women’s Basketball Games, including:
    • Two appearances from UConn, highlighted by non-conference tilts against Virginia on Wednesday, Nov. 19 and Oklahoma on Sunday, Dec. 22. Women’s action throughout the season features teams from the American Athletic Conference, Big East, Atlantic Coast Conference, Atlantic 10, Big 12 and Patriot League, as well as the Mid-American, C-USA, Patriot League, Mountain West and Southland Conference Championship Games. The NCAA Division II Women’s Semifinals and Championship also will be carried live on CBS Sports Network.

Additionally, on Sunday, April 5, CBS will broadcast the Men’s Division II Championship game and CBS Sports Network will televise the Men’s Division III Championship game.

CBS Sports’ coverage will be available to stream live via the CBS All Access subscription service, with additional coverage on and CBS Sports HQ.

More From LATF USA

Scroll to Top