32 NFL Players Nominated For Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

art Rooney sportsmanship award

The 32 player nominees for the fifth annual ART ROONEY SPORTSMANSHIP AWARD have been finalized, the NFL announced today. Each NFL team nominated one of its players for the award, which recognizes players around the league who exemplify outstanding sportsmanship on the field.

The award was created in 2014 in honor of the late founding owner of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Pro Football Hall of Famer ART ROONEY, SR.

A panel of former players from the NFL Legends Community will select eight finalists (four in the AFC and four in the NFC) from the 32 nominees. The eight finalists will be listed on the Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award category when players vote on Friday, December 14.

The winner of the NFL Sportsmanship Award is determined by a vote of current NFL players. From the eight finalists, each team’s players will submit a consensus vote of their choice for the winner. As in Pro Bowl voting, a team cannot vote for its own player.

The award is presented each year to an NFL player who best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition.






LB Luke Kuechly

Carolina Panthers


RB Frank Gore

Indianapolis Colts


CB Charles Woodson

Oakland Raiders


WR Larry Fitzgerald

Arizona Cardinals



The winner selected by the vote of the players will be announced during the nationally televised NFL Honors show on Saturday, February 2 on CBS, the night before Super Bowl LIII. He will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation to a charity of his choice. He will also receive a trophy that represents the important role that sportsmanship plays in the game and how NFL players that demonstrate integrity and honor on the field serve as role models for players at all levels.




Arizona Cardinals

DT Corey Peters

Atlanta Falcons

C Alex Mack

Baltimore Ravens

S Eric Weddle

Buffalo Bills

DT Kyle Williams

Carolina Panthers

DE Julius Peppers

Chicago Bears

C Cody Whitehair

Cincinnati Bengals

WR A.J. Green

Cleveland Browns

OL Joel Bitonio

Dallas Cowboys

QB Dak Prescott

Denver Broncos

DT Domata Peko

Detroit Lions

LS Don Muhlbach

Green Bay Packers

CB Tramon Williams

Houston Texans

CB Johnathan Joseph

Indianapolis Colts

QB Andrew Luck

Jacksonville Jaguars

DE Calais Campbell

Kansas City Chiefs

WR Sammy Watkins

Los Angeles Chargers

TE Antonio Gates

Los Angeles Rams

RB Todd Gurley

Miami Dolphins

RB Frank Gore

Minnesota Vikings

DE Danielle Hunter

New England Patriots

WR Matthew Slater

New Orleans Saints

QB Drew Brees

New York Giants

TE Rhett Ellison

New York Jets

DL Steve McLendon

Oakland Raiders

QB Derek Carr

Philadelphia Eagles

QB Carson Wentz

Pittsburgh Steelers

G David DeCastro

San Francisco 49ers

T Joe Staley

Seattle Seahawks

WR Tyler Lockett

Tampa Bay Buccaneers

LB Lavonte David

Tennessee Titans

QB Marcus Mariota

Washington Redskins

TE Vernon Davis


More From LATF USA

Scroll to Top