President Trump Awards Medal of Valor To Special Agents & Officers

President Donald J. Trump awarded the Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor (Medal of Valor) to Special Agents David Bailey and Crystal Griner of the United States Capitol Police and Officers Nicole Battaglia, Kevin Jobe, and Alexander Jensen of the Alexandria Police Department, for their heroic efforts on the morning of June 14, 2017.

The Medal of Valor is the Nation’s highest award for valor by public safety officers, and serves to recognize extraordinary acts above and beyond the call of duty.

All five first responders were on the field in Alexandria, Virginia when a heavily-armed assailant opened fire on U.S. House of Representatives Majority Whip Steve Scalise and about 20 other innocent, unarmed people, including several members of Congress. The bravery of these law enforcement officers saved numerous lives.

President Trump is also pleased to announce the selection of twelve recipients of this prestigious award from 2015-2016, who will be publicly honored and presented with the Medal of Valor at a later date. All of these individuals exhibited great courage and unwavering dedication to serving our country. Further details will be announced soon.

    • Corporal Rafael Ixco, San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department, CA
    • Corporal Chad Johnson, San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department, CA
    • Deputy Shaun Wallen, San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department, CA
    • Deputy Bruce Southworth, San Bernardino County Sheriff’s Department, CA
    • Officer Nicholas Koahou, San Bernardino Police Department, CA
    • Officer Brian Olvera, San Bernardino Police Department, CA
    • Lieutenant William Buchanan, Avery County Sheriff’s Office, NC
    • Emergency Medical Technician, Sean Ochsenbein, Putnam County Rescue Squad, TN
    • Chief Douglas Schroeder, Hesston Police Department, KS
    • Firefighter/Harbor Patrol Officer, David Poirier Jr., Redondo Beach Fire Department, CA
    • Patrolman Andrew Hopfensperger Jr., Antigo Police Department, WI
    • Engineer Stephen Gunn, Peoria Fire-Medical Department, AZ
  • Medal of valor

More From LATF USA

Scroll to Top