LATF USA Presents The 3rd Hollywood Beauty Awards

2017 Hollywood Beauty Awards, honorees, nominees, celebrity presenters

For the third year, LATF USA presents the annual Hollywood Beauty Awards (HBAs) on Sunday, February 19, 2017 at the iconic Avalon Hollywood.

The black tie dinner gala benefitting the M•A•C AIDS Fund, recognizes the architects of beauty in hair, makeup, photography and styling for Film, TV and Music, as well as for the red carpet and editorial.

Radio personality, Lisa Stanley (K-EARTH 101) and comedienne/actress, Kym Whitley (“Young & Hungry”) are co-hosting. 

Lexus returns as the 2017 HBAs title sponsor. Supporting sponsors include NuMe, Moët & Chandon, and The Hollywood Reporter as media partner. Award design by Christopher Guy.

The 2017 honorees & nominees are:


Outstanding Achievement in Special Effects Makeup: Joel Harlow – (Works with Johnny Depp on all “Pirates of the Caribbean” films, “Alice in Wonderland,” “Black Mass,” etc. Oscar winner for “Star Trek,” Oscar nominee for “Star Trek Beyond”)

Outstanding Achievement in Makeup: Beverly Jo Pryor – (FOX’s “Empire,” “Hidden Figures,” “Selma,” “Lee Daniels’ The Butler,” “Straight Outta Compton,” etc.)

Outstanding Achievement in Hairstyling: Linda Flowers – (Works with Melissa McCarthy, “Ghostbusters,” “The Boss,” “Hunger Games 1 & 2,” “Iron Man 2,” “Captain America: The First Avenger,” etc.)

Outstanding Achievement in Hairstyling: Melissa Forney – (FOX’s “Empire,” “Hidden Figures,” “Selma,” “Ride Along 2,”  “The Best Man Holiday,” etc.)

Outstanding Achievement in Photography: Timothy White – (Harrison Ford, Aretha Franklin, Billy Bob Thornton, Elizabeth Taylor, Jay-Z, Michael Jackson, Jon Bon Jovi, etc.)

Outstanding Achievement in Costume Design & Styling: Bob Mackie – (Cher, Diana Ross, Ann-Margret, Tina Turner, Beyonce, Carol Burnett, etc.)


Fragrance of the YearGOLD RUSH Paris Hilton

Brand of the Year – NuMe, CEO Sabrina Maren

Product of the Year –Beachwaver®, CEO Sarah Potempa

Beauty Enhancement AwardDr. Harold Lancer – (World-renowned Dermatologist – Oprah Winfrey, Jennifer Lopez, Beyonce, Ryan Seacrest, Reese Witherspoon, Kim Kardashian, etc.)

Timeless Beauty AwardLinda Gray (Golden Globe nominee, “Dallas”)

New Beauty AwardAndra Day (GRAMMY nominated singer/songwriter)

New Beauty AwardSami Gayle (CBS’ “Blue Bloods”)

Special Tribute AwardSassoon Salons & Sassoon Academies, received by Etienne Taenaka (Director of Sassoon Salons)


Every year, the nominee categories are named after the current honorees. These established nominees, specializing in creating celebrity looks for the red carpet and editorial compete in each honoree category. (*Includes past and current clients)

Joel Harlow Award for Makeup:

Angela Levin (Chanel, Nicole Kidman, Jennifer Aniston)*

Claudia Betancur (L’Oreal Paris, Thalia, Adamari Lopez)*

Michelle Clark (M.A.C., Elle King, Lorde)*


Beverly Jo Pryor Award for Makeup:

Saisha Beecham (Sanaa Lathan, Nia Long, Chadwick Boseman)*

Sam Fine (Queen Latifah, Iman, Paula Patton)*

Steven Aturo (Jada Pinkett-Smith, Alicia Keys, Willow Smith)*


Linda Flowers Award for Hairstyling:

David Gardner (Julia-Louis Dreyfus, Emily Deschanel, Angie Harmon)*

Giannandrea (Christina Aguilera, Gwyneth Paltrow, Chrissy Teigen)*

Jenny Cho (Jennifer Lawrence, Emilia Clarke, Amanda Seyfried)*


Melissa Forney Award for Hairstyling:

Larry Sims (Gabrielle Union, Tracee Ellis Ross, Kerry Washington)*

Neal Farinah (Beyonce, Mary J. Blige, Nikki Minaj)*

Nikki Nelms (Janelle Monae, Solange, Zoe Kravitz)*


Timothy White Award for Photography:

Christopher Polk (Getty Images, Academy Awards, GRAMMYS)*

Eric Charbonneau (AP/Invision, Warner Bros, Twentieth Century Fox, etc.)*

Jennifer Graylock (New York Fashion Week, Academy Awards, Vogue, Glamour)*


Bob Mackie Award for Styling:

Jason Bolden (Taraji P. Henson, Mary J. Blige, Tika Sumpter)*

Jen Rade (Angelina Jolie, Marisa Tomei, Carrie Ann Inaba)*

Derek Roche (Sean ‘Diddy’ Combs, Cassie, Jason Derulo)*



Billy Bob Thornton, Ryan Seacrest, Octavia Spencer, Zachary Quinto, Sharon Osbourne, Kelly Osbourne, Lea Michele, Trai Byers, Peggy Moffit, Stephen Nussdorf, McKenzie Westmore, Tim Robards and more TBA.


The HBAs were founded by LATF USA’s publisher, Michele Elyzabeth. The award show recognizes the architects of beauty in hair, makeup, photography and styling in Hollywood. The HBAs honor the unsung heroes in the beauty industry, including Beauty Enhancement, Timeless Beauty, New Beauties, Fragrance of the Year, Brand and Product of the Year. The final vote is determined by the expertise, creativity and artistry, as well as photographs, bios and reels which are submitted for each nominee. A panel, which makes up the HBAs board is comprised of professionals from the beauty industry; encompassing Journalists, Publicists and Beauty Experts. New members are added every year. and


The M•A•C AIDS Fund, the philanthropic arm of M•A•C Cosmetics, has raised more than $440 million since its inception in 1994, exclusively through the sale of M•A•C VIVA GLAM lipstick and lipgloss. The Fund is the heart and soul of M•A•C Cosmetics, encompassing diversity while celebrating life and the outspoken attitude of the company. Partnering with bold, visionary, and brave organizations to confront the epidemic in communities where people are at highest risk around the world, the M•A•C AIDS Fund is ending AIDS, one lipstick at a time.

Social Media: #HollywoodBeautyAwards — #HBAs — Twitter, Facebook & Instagram: @LATFusa & @HollywoodBeautyNews

More From LATF USA

Scroll to Top