Producer’s Guild Awards: ‘La La Land’ Wins Zanuck Award For Outstanding Producing

PGA winners, la la landThis weekend the Producers Guild of America (PGA) announced this year's winning motion picture, television, and new media productions at the 28th Annual Producers Guild Awards ceremony at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles.

Closing the evening, the film "La La Land" and its producers Fred Berger, Jordan Horowitz, and Marc Platt won the PGA's Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures.  This category is one of the most eagerly anticipated of season and is widely considered a strong prognosticator for the Oscars®, as the Zanuck Award has matched the win for Best Picture 19 times in its 28-year history.

The Netflix television series "Strangers Things" (Season 1) and its producers Matt Duffer, Ross Duffer, Shawn Levy, Dan Cohen, and Iain Paterson won the PGA's Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama. 

The Jerry Seinfeld-created web series "Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee" (Season 7, Season 8) won the Award for Outstanding Digital Series for the third year in a row. Also, votes for the Award for Outstanding Sports Program resulted in a tie between Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel (Season 22) and VICE World of Sports (Season 1).

In addition to its competitive awards, the PGA presented special honors to producer James L. Brooks with the Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television; producer Megan Ellison with the Visionary Award; Sony Pictures Entertainment's Motion Picture Group Chairman Tom Rothman with the Milestone Award; producer Irwin Winkler with the David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures; and Focus Features' Loving with the Stanley Kramer Award, which was accepted by producer Colin Firth on behalf of the film.

The 2017 Producers Guild Awards Co-Chairs are Donald De Line and Amy Pascal. Sponsors of this year's event are Buick, Official Automotive Partner of the Awards; Delta Air Lines, Official Airline Partner of the PGA and sponsor of the Visionary Award; Wanda Studios; ARRI; and Jo Malone.

The Producers Guild of America presents the 2017 Producers Guild Awards honoring excellence in motion picture, television and new media productions, as well as some of the living legends who shape the profession. In 1990, the Producers Guild held the first-ever Golden Laurel Awards, which were renamed the Producers Guild Awards in 2002. At that first show, Richard Zanuck and Lili Fini Zanuck took home the award for Best Produced Motion Picture for "Driving Miss Daisy," establishing the Guild's awards as a bellwether for the Oscars.

More From LATF USA

Scroll to Top