The 141st Kentucky Derby Airs On NBC

Kentucky Derby

Photo: Keeneland/Coady Photography via

This year, 22 horses have been entered in the $2 million Kentucky Derby Presented by Yum! Brands. Known as America’s greatest race, Churchill Downs will conduct the 141st derby on Saturday May 2nd.

The race will air on NBC: 4:00PM to 7:30PM ET. Pre-coverage airs on NBC Sports Network. Last year’s winner was California Chrome. The horse was the first California-bred colt to win the Derby since 1962. Chrome’s 77-year-old trainer, Art Sherman was the oldest trainer to take home the Derby prize.

Who will make history this year?

The horses and their jockeys:
International Star (Miguel Mena); Dortmund (Martin Garcia); Carpe Diem (John Velazquez); American Pharoah (Victor Espinoza); Frosted (Joel Rosario); Mubtaahij-IRE (Christophe Soumillon); Materiality (Javier Castellano); El Kabeir (Calvin Borel); Upstart (Jose Ortiz); Far Right (Mike Smith); Itsaknockout (Luis Saez); Firing Line (Gary Stevens); Danzig Moon (Julien Leparoux); War Story (Joe Talamo); Tencendur (Manny Franco); Stanford
(Florent Geroux); Mr. Z (Ramon Vazquez); Ocho Ocho Ocho (Elvis Trujillo); Bolo (Rafael Bejarano); and Keen Ice (Kent Desormeaux). Frammento (Corey Nakatani) and Tale of Verve (Brian Hernandez Jr.) are on the “also eligible” list.

More From LATF USA

Scroll to Top