Marcus Mariota Wins 80th Heisman Trophy

Heisman Trophy Marcus


The 80th Heisman ceremony took place on Saturday evening at 8 p.m. ET on ESPN. Out of the three Heisman finalists, Marcus Mariota won the prestigious sports title over Amari Cooper (Alabama) and Melvin Gordon (Wisconsin). 

Mariota is the first Oregon Duck to win the Heisman Trophy and the first Hawaii-born Heisman winner. Mariota leads in many ways on the field; in passing efficiency and yards per attempt, ranks second in touchdown passes, and he leads the nation in fewest interceptions per attempt.

On winning the trophy Mariota said, “Every kid that plays football wants to be a part of this ceremony. For me, this is really a dream come true, and I’m really thankful to be here.”

On New Years Day, Mariota and Oregon will play Florida State and last year’s Heisman winner, quarterback Jameis Winston, in the first of the two national semifinals in the College Football Playoff.


More From LATF USA

Scroll to Top