Who Won A Critics’ Choice Movie Award?

Photo Courtesy of Getty / Kevin Winter

And awards season continues…. The Critics’ Choice Movie Awards ceremony took place on Thursday, January 16, 2014 from the Barker Hangar in Santa Monica, Calif. The show broadcast live on The CW Network at 8:00 PM ET/PT.

And the winners are….

Best Picture
“American Hustle”
“Captain Phillips”
“Dallas Buyers Club”
“Inside Llewyn Davis”
“Saving Mr. Banks”
WINNER: “12 Years a Slave”
“The Wolf of Wall Street”

Best Actor
Christian Bale — “American Hustle”
Bruce Dern — “Nebraska”
Chiwetel Ejiofor — “12 Years a Slave”
Tom Hanks — “Captain Phillips”
WINNER: Matthew Mcconaughey — “Dallas Buyers Club”
Robert Redford — “All Is Lost”

Best Actress
WINNER: Cate Blanchett — “Blue Jasmine”
Sandra Bullock — “Gravity”
Judi Dench — “Philomena”
Brie Larson — “Short Term 12”
Meryl Streep — “August: Osage County”
Emma Thompson — “Saving Mr. Banks”

Best Supporting Actor
WINNER: Jared Leto — “Dallas Buyers Club”
Barkhad Abdi — “Captain Phillips”
Daniel Bruhl — “Rush”
Bradley Cooper — “American Hustle”
Michael Fassbender — “12 Years a Slave”
James Gandolfini — “Enough Said”

Best Supporting Actress
Scarlett Johansson — “Her”
Jennifer Lawrence — “American Hustle”
WINNER: Lupita Nyong’o — “12 Years a Slave”
Julia Roberts — “August: Osage County”
June Squibb — “Nebraska”
Oprah Winfrey — “Lee Daniels’ The Butler”

Best Young Actor/Actress
WINNER: Adele Exarchopoulos — “Blue Is the Warmest Color”
Asa Butterfield — “Ender’s Game”
Liam James — “The Way Way Back”
Sophie Nelisse — “The Book Thief”
Tye Sheridan — “Mud”

Best Acting Ensemble
WINNER: “American Hustle”
“August: Osage County”
“Lee Daniels’ The Butler”
“12 Years a Slave”
“The Wolf of Wall Street”

Best Director
WINNER: Alfonso Cuaron — “Gravity”
Paul Greengrass — “Captain Phillips”
Spike Jonze — “Her”
Steve Mcqueen — “12 Years a Slave”
David O. Russell — “American Hustle”
Martin Scorsese — “The Wolf of Wall Street”

Best Original Screenplay
Eric Singer And David O. Russell — “American Hustle”
Woody Allen — “Blue Jasmine”
WINNER:Spike Jonze — “Her”
Joel Coen & Ethan Coen — “Inside Llewyn Davis”
Bob Nelson — “Nebraska”

Best Adapted Screenplay
Tracy Letts — “August: Osage County”
Richard Linklater & Julie Delpy & Ethan Hawke — “Before Midnight”
Billy Ray — “Captain Phillips”
Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope — “Philomena”
WINNER:John Ridley — “12 Years a Slave”
Terence Winter — “The Wolf of Wall Street”

Best Cinematography
WINNER: Emmanuel Lubezki — “Gravity”
Bruno Delbonnel — “Inside Llewyn Davis”
Phedon Papamichael — “Nebraska”
Roger Deakins — “Prisoners”
Sean Bobbitt — “12 Years a Slave”

Best Art Direction
Andy Nicholson (Production Designer), Rosie Goodwin (Set Decorator) — “Gravity”
WINNER: Catherine Martin (Production Designer), Beverley Dunn (Set Decorator) — “The Great Gatsby”
K.K. Barrett (Production Designer), Gene Serdena (Set Decorator) — “Her” Dan Hennah (Production Designer), Simon Bright (Set Decorator), Ra Vincent (Set Decorator) — “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”
Adam Stockhausen (Production Designer), Alice Baker (Set Decorator) — “12 Years a Slave”

Best Editing
Alan Baumgarten, Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers — “American Hustle”
Christopher Rouse — “Captain Phillips”
WINNER: Alfonso Cuarón, Mark Sanger — “Gravity”
Daniel P. Hanley, Mike Hill — “Rush”
Joe Walker — “12 Years a Slave”
Thelma Schoonmaker — “The Wolf of Wall Street”

Best Costume Design
Michael Wilkinson — “American Hustle”
WINNER: Catherine Martin — “The Great Gatsby”
Bob Buck, Ann Maskrey, Richard Taylor — “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”
Daniel Orlandi — “Saving Mr. Banks”
Patricia Norris — “12 Years a Slave”

Best Hair & Makeup
WINNER: “American Hustle”
“The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug”
“Lee Daniels’ The Butler”
“12 Years A Slave”

Best Visual Effects
WINNER: “Gravity”
“The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”
“Iron Man 3”
“Pacific Rim”
“Star Trek Into Darkness”

Best Animated Feature
WINNER: “Frozen”
“The Croods”
“Despicable Me 2”
“Monsters University”
“The Wind Rises”

Best Action Movie
WINNER: “Lone Survivor”
“The Hunger Games: Catching Fire”
“Iron Man 3”
“Star Trek Into Darkness”

Best Actor In An Action Movie
WINNER: Mark Wahlberg — “Lone Survivor”
Henry Cavill — “Man Of Steel”
Robert Downey Jr. — “Iron Man 3”
Brad Pitt — “World War Z”

Best Actress In An Action Movie
WINNER: Sandra Bullock — “Gravity”
Jennifer Lawrence — “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire”
Evangeline Lilly — “The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug”
Gwyneth Paltrow — “Iron Man 3”

Best Comedy
WINNER: “American Hustle”
“Enough Said”
“The Heat”
“This Is the End”
“The Way Way Back”
“The World’s End”

Best Actor In A Comedy
WINNER: Leonardo Dicaprio — “The Wolf Of Wall Street”
Christian Bale — “American Hustle”
James Gandolfini — “Enough Said”
Simon Pegg — “The World’s End”
Sam Rockwell — “The Way Way Back”

Best Actress In a Comedy
WINNER: Amy Adams — “American Hustle”
Sandra Bullock — “The Heat”
Greta Gerwig — “Frances Ha”
Julia Louis-Dreyfus — “Enough Said”
Melissa Mccarthy” — “The Heat”

Best Sci-Fi/Horror Movie
“The Conjuring”
“Star Trek Into Darkness”
“World War Z”

Best Foreign Language Film
WINNER:”Blue Is the Warmest Color”
“The Great Beauty”
“The Hunt”
“The Past”

Best Documentary Feature
“The Act of Killing”
“Stories We Tell”
“Tim’s Vermeer”
WINNER: “20 Feet From Stardom”

Best Song
“Atlas,” Coldplay — “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire”
“Happy,” Pharrell Williams — “Despicable Me 2”
WINNER:”Let It Go,” Robert Lopez and Kristen Anderson-Lopez — “Frozen”
“Ordinary Love,” U2 — “Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom”
“Please Mr. Kennedy,” Justin Timberlake, Oscar Isaac and Adam Driver — “Inside Llewyn Davis”
“Young And Beautiful,” Lana Del Rey — “The Great Gatsby”

Best Score
WINNER: Steven Price — “Gravity”
Arcade Fire — “Her”
Thomas Newman — “Saving Mr. Banks”
Hans Zimmer — “12 Years a Slave”

More From LATF USA

Scroll to Top